Related Bike News & Reviews
Brand New Bikes in Stock
2014 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14R ABS Special Edition (ZX1400FA)
2008 Kawasaki KFX450R
2014 Can-Am Outlander 650 4x4 XT
2014 CFMoto 650NK (LAMS)
2014 Cougar Cat 500 Farmer 4x4 IRS (CA500F)
The New Zealander's brilliant speed and consistency saw him claim the spoils in round two of the 2012 Australian Motocross Championship on his Yamaha

Josh Coppins has seized victory at round two of the Australian Motocross Championship in Coonabarabran (NSW) on April 14-15.

The CDR Yamaha rider, just a fortnight after finishing second at the season opener, claimed the honours with 4-3-1 finishes in the trio of premier MX1 motos.

“It feels good to win because I felt like I struggled on Saturday and didn’t really ride that well today,” former world No. 2 Coppins said. “I just had to be patient and the first five-lap races weren’t long enough for me. I knew the last longer moto would suit me, so I focused on winning that one. It’s been a great start to the season for me so far.”

Coppins’ triumph came after Australian Jake Moss took two spectacular moto wins to start the round, proving himself once again as a surprise threat for this title chase in 2012.

But Moss’ day turned pear-shaped in the final moto when an early fall meant that he was forced to settle for 16th in the race and third overall for the round.

Bourke’s Tye Simmonds (5-4-2) was second overall.

Fourth overall was defending four-time champion Jay Marmont (Monster Energy Kawasaki), as he continues to gain momentum on the KX450F.
Rounding out the top five was British champion Brad Anderson on the Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing CRF450R.

Anderson’s teammate and round one winner Ben Townley didn’t race following a nasty practice crash on Saturday that saw him transferred to hospital with a hip injury.

The Motul MX2 class saw Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racing’s Luke Styke take a spectacular clean sweep of first places.
“It was a perfect weekend for me this weekend,” Styke reflected. “Everyone was working well… my YZ250F was unreal and it all paid off. The track was unbelievable, really suited my style, and I’m really happy to be leading the championship….”

Styke takes over the championship lead from teammate Kirk Gibbs, who finished in the runner-up position at Coonabarabran with 5-4-2 finishes.

Completing the podium for the round was Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Kade Mosig despite getting caught up in the start gates in the third and final moto. Mosig raced to 2-5-6 results in his first podium for his new employer.

The Pirelli MXD class for Under 19s riders was won by 18-year-old Tasmanian talent Dylan Leary (KTM), riding his 250 SX two-stroke to the overall in a tight race for the victory.

The championship will continue with round three in Wonthaggi (Vic) on April 28-29.

Round two results

1. Josh Coppins 63
2. Tye Simmonds 56
3. Jake Moss 55
4. Jay Marmont 54
5. Brad Anderson 50
6. Cody Cooper 49
7. Lawson Bopping 48
8. Daniel McCoy 40
9. Daniel Reardon 39
10. Todd Waters 35

1. Luke Styke 75
2. Kirk Gibbs 56
3. Kade Mosig 53
4. Cheyne Boyd 52
5. Ford Dale 48
6. Scott Columb 48
7. Errol Willis 46
8. Justin McDonald 40
9. Ryan Marmont 39
10. Josh Cachia 36

1. Dylan Leary 59
2. Mitch Norris 58
3. Joel Milesevic 58
4. Dylan Long 52
5. Kale Makeham 51
6. Sam Martin 50
7. Jay Wilson 41
8. Kayne Lamont 36
9. Dylan Wills 35
10. Jarrad Davis 33

MX1 standings (after two of 10 rounds):
1. Coppins 125
2. Moss 101
3. Marmont 95
4. Anderson 94
5. Simmonds 94
6. Bopping 89
7. Waters 89
8. Cooper 87
9. Ben Townley 75
10. Reardon 72

MX2 standings (after two of 10 rounds):
1. Styke 132
2. Gibbs 119
3. Dale 110
4. Mosig 97
5. Cachia 92
6. McDonald 88
7. Boyd 87
8. Adam Monea 80
9. Willis 76
10. Marmont 67

MXD standings (after two of 10 rounds):
1. Long 124
2. Leary 106
3. Norris 101
4. Martin 99
5. Makeham 96
6. Lamont 94
7. Milesevic 92
8. Wilson 89
9. Wills 58
10. Mitch Budd 54

Read the latest Bikesales Network news and reviews on your mobile, iPhone or PDA at the Bikesales Network's mobile site. Or download the all-new App.

Published : Monday, 16 April 2012
In most cases, the Carsales Network attends new vehicle launches at the invitation and expense of vehicle manufacturers and/or distributors.

Editorial prices shown are a "price guide" only, based on information provided to us by the manufacturer. Pricing current at the time of writing editorial. Pricing prior to editorial dated 25 May 2009 may refer to RRP. Due to Clarity on Pricing legislation, RRP for those editorials now means "price guide". When purchasing a bike, always confirm the single figure price with the seller of an actual motorbike or accessory. Click here for further information about our Terms & Conditions.